Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Carlton Residents Association Held on February 15th, 2016 at 7.30 pm at the Kathleen Syme Library and Community Centre.

PRESENT: List of attendees attached.

APOLOGIES:

- Maureen Ward
- Jean Gorman

WELCOME

George Janko, President, opened the meeting and welcomed attendees. He acknowledged the Wurundjeri people as traditional custodians of the land and paid respect to their elders, past and present.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES FROM PREVIOUS AGM HELD ON February 23, 2015.

Moved: John Weickhardt

Seconded: Greta Bird

Carried

CRA ANNUAL REPORT

George Janko, President, spoke to the CRA annual report and was ably assisted by John Weickhardt and Warren Green. They highlighted two major wins. They said that it was appropriate for CRA to be holding its AGM in the recently opened Kathleen Syme Centre. It had been long term CRA advocacy that had ensured that this former Carlton Primary School building had become a library and a community meeting place. They also stressed the major role that the CRA Planning Group had played in stopping the inappropriate redevelopment of the current Downtowner Hotel site on the corner of Lygon and Queensberry Streets.

Motion that the CRA Annual Report be accepted.

Moved: George Janko

Seconded: John Weickhardt

Carried

Treasurer's Report

Philip Watts tabled his treasurer's report and spoke to it. He said that CRA had a loss of \$1,882 in 2015 because he had budgeted for CRA to obtain a community grant of \$3000 from the City of Melbourne which had not been received. CRA has been successful in obtaining a \$3000 grant from the Council for this year. The major

one off expenditure in 2015 was \$3,097 to upgrade the website. Philip's report included a draft budget for 2016 and he anticipated a surplus of \$590. Our Balance sheet position continued to be strong.

Philip asked for any comments or questions.

Motion that the Treasurer's report be accepted.

Moved: Philip Watts

Seconded: lan Bird

Carried

ELECTIONS

George Janko explained that all elected officers and general committee members had retired in accordance with the rules of the association. He said that all committee members had offered themselves for re-election and had been nominated in accordance with the rules.

It was explained that the following individuals had nominated for office bearer positions:

George Janko had been nominated as President

Trish O'Loughlin has been nominated as Vice President

Julie Harrison has been nominated as Secretary

and

Philip Watts has been nominated as Treasurer.

It was explained that as there had been no other nominations received for these Office Holder positions, in accordance with Rule 52(2), each of these executive committee members was deemed to be elected.

It was explained that according to the Rules of the Association, the number of general members of the Committee was deemed to be three for 2016.

The following retiring Committee members have been nominated as new general Committee members:

Malcolm Foo

and

John Weickhardt.

The following new Committee member was also nominated:

Farida Fleming

As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies to be filled, then under Rule 53 (3) of the Association, each of the above members was declared elected or re-elected as the case may be.

Working Groups

The CRA working groups were discussed and CRA members were invited to join any of interest to them. It is proposed to develop a new strategic planning working group this year.

GENERAL BUSINESS

None

GUEST SPEAKER: Stuart MacIntyre

Our very informative and interesting guest speaker was Stuart MacIntyre, the recently appointed Chair of the Heritage Council of Victoria. He talked about the group's role in protecting places and objects of importance to the history and development of Victoria and how it works in partnership with the Australian Heritage Council and local governments to realise this goal. He then went on to discuss heritage issues for the local Carlton community.

George Janko, our President, thanked Stuart and presented him with a thank you gift.

CLOSE

George closed the meeting and thanked everyone for coming and encouraged them to stay for supper.

CRA AGM ATTENDEES

Fiona Patten

Ethel Fullerton

Ivana Csaroiaimi

Lyn Cracknell

Ian Bird

Greta Bird

Warren Green

Elaine Tisher

Richard Tisher

Ewan Ogilvy

Dennis Toth

Franqoise Levinson

Lester Levinson

Catherine Drew

Helen Macnamara

Colin Macnamara

Philip Watts

Trish O'Loughlin

Farida Fleming

Rosemary Hill

Jeremy Hill

Russell Edwards

Ian Howie

Dannielle Chamberlin

Malcolm Foo

Jackie Watts

Paul Madden

George Janko

John Weickhardt

Julie Harrison

Joan Ellard

Maria Faila

Frank Chamberlin

Billy Griffiths

lan Johnston

Brian Falconer